Still Figuring Out Who I Want To Be When I Grow Up

image

In many ways, I believe this is the main lesson I was meant to take away from my 30s. So many things that I once considered ‘concrete’ aspects of my life have either dissolved, been turned upside down or I am simply seeing them with wiser eyes & evaluating their worth differently now. I heard someone say recently that you spend much of your 30s ‘editing’ (physically & figuratively) all the stuff you collected in your 20s & when I heard that it just clicked with me. Some of the changes & decisions have been more difficult to accept than others, but I’m learning to appreciate the difference between quantity & quality. In this case, less is definitely more.

3 thoughts on “Still Figuring Out Who I Want To Be When I Grow Up

  1. Great post! I love the idea of editing the things you collected in your 20s. Something I talk about a lot is the fact that we should never choose a career (or hobby or anything, really) that we plan to keep for the rest of our lives. We’re always adapting and changing, just like you mention, and we can’t expect to get it right the first time. I think that just leads to anxiety and stress. I always tell people just to do what they enjoy NOW, and make sure they continue enjoying it by re-evaluating. If they don’t, then move on!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

