How To Have More Time For What You Love

image

It may seem impossible at first, with so many other things vying for your urgent attention, but the truth is if you want more time for your passion you need to make it a priority –  because (as we all know) ‘tomorrow never comes’. I wasted over a decade doing what I thought was ‘right’ and what ‘had to be done’, feeling like I was constantly in survivor mode, jumping on the same treadmill day after day, year after year. I swallowed the rhetoric of ‘follow the money’ but it only left me feeling drained & unfulfilled. Of course, we all need a little cash to get by on (which is why, much as I’d like to be a full-time artist, I have a part-time job to supplement my husband’s income). But for me, money is no longer the primary, driving force behind what motivates me to get out of bed every morning. The excitement I feel when I’ve hatched a new idea and the sense of pure relaxation when I lose myself in the creative process are such priceless pleasures – I will never trade them in for the promise of a ‘good life’ again. But perhaps, if I work really hard at pursuing what I love most, one day the money will follow me (instead of the other way around).

Leave a Reply

